Orange County Branch Newsletter

February 2016

Branch Awards

Join us for the Annual ASCE OC Branch Awards Dinner - February 18, 2016

Come Join Us for the 2016 ASCE OC Awards Dinner!  

The Orange County Branch is recognizing outstanding individuals and projects in civil engineering at our annual February Awards dinner.  Celebrate with us this year as our event will be held on Thursday, February 18, 2016 at Seven Degrees in Laguna Beach.

I want to thank all of you who submitted nominations this year! Without your nominations, we would not have learned about all the wonderful projects and civil engineers we have here in Orange County.

For event details and to register, please see below, or call our administrative office at (714)258-8306.  If you have any questions, please contact me at (714) 647-3990 or email .

The selection committee for the awards is comprised of a number of ASCE OC Branch Presidents.  This year, the committee members were:

  • Steven King, PE                          President 2015-16
  • Gary Gilbert, PE, GE, ENV SP    President 2014-15
  • Penny Lew, PE   (Chair)              President 2013-14
  • Tapas Dutta, PE                          President 2012-13
  • Ziad Mazboudi, PE                     President 2010-11
  • Kathereen Shinkai, PE               President 2009-10
  • Ken Rosenfield, PE                    President 2008-09
  • Yazdan Emrani, PE                    President 2006-07
  • John Hogan, PE                          President 2005-06
  • Randall Berry, PE                       President 2002-03

My heartfelt “thanks” goes to the committee for taking the time during and after the holidays to review the many nominations we received and for participating in our lively debate (as expected) to finalize the list of award winners!

This year’s winners are listed below.

Sign up before spots run out!


The project award winners are:

  • Project of the Year
    West County Connectors
  • Airports & Ports Project
    Marina Park
  • Architectural Engineering Project
    Marina Park
  • Bikeways & Trails Project
    Oso Creek Multi-Use Trail
  • Bridge Project
    Lincoln Avenue Widening Over the Santa Ana River
  • Community Improvement Project
    PCH/Del Prado Street Improvements
  • Construction Project
    Brookhurst Street Widening Project
  • Energy Project
    Waste to Energy
  • Environmental Engineering Project
    Newport Beach's Harbor Litter Removal Project
  • Flood Management Project
    Newland, Edinger, and East Garden Grove Wintersburg Storm Channel Confluence System
  • Geotechnical Project
    Cow Camp Road Design - Phases 1A & 1B
  • Historical Renovation Project
    Laguna Beach Festival of Arts Facade/Entrance Project
  • Parks & Recreation Project
    New Ocelot Exhibit at the Santa Ana Zoo
  • Roadway & Highway Project
    Bristol Street Improvements Phase II
  • Small Project
    Gilbert Street Improvements
  • Structural Engineering Project
    Cow Camp Road Design - Phases 1A & 1B
  • Sustainable Engineering Project
    City of San Clemente Recycled Water Expansion Project
  • Transportation Project
    I-5/SR-74 Interchange Improvement Project
  • Urban or Land Development Project
    Alegre Affordable Apartments
  • Water Project
    Gobernadora Multipurpose Basin
  • Water/Wastewater Treatment Project
    Groundwater Replenishment System Initial Expansion
  • Project Collaboration
    Cerritos Avenue Reconstruction and Sanitary Sewer Improvement Project


The individual award winners are:

  • Outstanding Civil Engineer in the Public Sector
    Kevin Onuma, P.E.
  • Outstanding Civil Engineer in the Private Sector
    Fred Minagar, P.E.
  • Outstanding Civil Engineer in Community Service
    Amy Choi, E.I.T.
  • Outstanding Civil Engineer in Legislative Activities
    Ravi Shah, P.E.
  • Outstanding YMF Officer
    Roxanne Follis, E.I.T.
  • Outstanding ASCE Faculty Advisor
    Amir Aghakouchak, Ph.D., P.E.
  • Outstanding ASCE Life Member
    Harvey Gobas, P.E.
  • Outstanding Younger Civil Engineer
    Mujahid Chandoo, P.E.
  • Outstanding Civil Engineering Student
    Chloe Gharios
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Tom Bogard, P.E.
  • Excellence in Journalism
    Dr. Adrian Moore
  • Excellence in Promotion of Infrastructure
    Ryan Chamberlain, Caltrans D12 Director
  • Land Development Engineer of the Year
    Jeff Okamoto, P.E.





View Details and Register »

Visit our Sponsor

Related Groups/Committees