Orange County Branch Newsletter

December 2018


Celebration of FY 2017-2018

On September 19th, 2018, OC YMF celebrated the end of the 2017-2018 fiscal year (FY) by acknowledging achievements and accomplishments of the group as well as individual members. The new board members and executive chairs for the 2018-2019 FY were also introduced.

The meeting began with the usual informal networking for the attendees to mingle. Immediately afterwards, we had an icebreaker which asked of our attendees to introduce themselves and share what their favorite emoji was. Apparently, we all happen to be fans of the laughing and kissing emojis. Then old and new action items were discussed. 

As a tradition for every last FY meeting, we continued the meeting by presenting awards to outstanding board members who went above and beyond their responsibilities this past FY.

Ashlyn Alexander was presented the President-Elect’s Award by the current OC YMF President, Ryan Hankes, for her exceptional contributions to community service and networking social events.

Risa Abelgas was presented the President’s Award by current OC YMF Past-President, Chirath “Chuck” Karunathilake, for spearheading the success of the 2017-2018 ASCE YMF OC Mentorship Program.

Adeleine Tran was selected for the October to November bi-monthly Board Member Spotlight for her contributions to multiple committees on both YMF and Branch levels. You can read Adeleine’s spotlight on ASCE OC YMF’s website found here


Ashlyn (1) and Risa (2) were recognized with the President-Elect and President’s Awards. (Photos by Andy Nguyen)

Adeleine was recognized with the Board Member Spotlight for Oct-Nov 2018.

More good news was shared as well as a welcome surprise. ASCE OC YMF was recognized with the 2018 Younger Member Group Award for Large Groups, which honors ASCE OC YMF’s outstanding professional, technical, social, outreach, and community service activities on behalf of the Orange County branch.

Some of our very own YMF members were also recognized by ASCE OC, LA, and National Branches for their outstanding commitment to the industry, community, and ASCE. Thank you Risa Abelgas, Nestor Godinez, Gysella “Jazzy” Quinabo, and Elizabeth Ruedas for your services and congratulations on your recognitions. What an amazing year we’ve had!

Lastly, we welcomed the new 2018-2019 FY Executive Board:

  • Past-President - Chuck Karunathilake
  • President - Ryan Hankes
  • President-Elect - Jazzy Quinabo
  • Secretary - Crystal Mena
  • Treasurer - Josue Candelario

Congratulations and welcome, we look forward to another fun and successful year!

If you or anyone you know may be interested in joining OC YMF, please consider attending our monthly general and board meetings. All are welcome! Click here to learn more and join today!


(1) A token of appreciation for FY17-18 President Chuck by FY18-19 President Ryan; (2) Last FY17-18 board meeting. (Photos by Andy Nguyen)

Visit our Sponsor